Grand National Winners

Here you can view all the past Grand National winners dating back to 1960. Can you spot a few household favourites? Red Rum in 73, 74 and 77 and who could forget Bob Champion’s classic ride on Aldaniti in 1981.

To read more about each Grand National winner just click on the horses name below.

Grand National Winners 1960 ~ 2015
2014Pineau De ReLeighton AspellDr R. Newland25/1
2013Auroras EncoreRyan ManiaSue Smith66/1
2012Neptune CollongesDaryl JacobPaul Nicholls33/1
2011BallabriggsJason MaguireDonald McCain Jnr14/1
2010Don’t Push ItA.P. McCoyJonjo O’Neill25/1
2009Mon MomeLiam TreadwellVenetia Williams100/1
2008Comply or DieTimmy MurphyDavid Pipe7/1
2007Silver BirchRobbie PowerGordon Elliott33/1
2006NumbersixvalverdeNiall MaddenMartin Brassil11/1
2005HedgehunterRuby WalshWillie Mullins7/1 f
2004Amberleigh HouseGraham LeeDonald McCain16/1
2003Monty’s PassB.GeraghtyJimmy Mangan16/1
2002BindareeJim CullotyN.Twiston-Davies20/1
2001Red MarauderRichard GuestNorman Mason33/1
2000PapillonRuby WalshTed Walsh10/1
1999BobbyjoPaul CarberryT. Carberry10/1
1998Earth SummitCarl LlewellynN Twiston-Davies7/1 f
1997Lord GylleneTony DobbinS.Brookshaw14/1
1996Rough QuestMick FitzgeraldTerry Casey7/1 f
1995Royal AthleteJason TitleyJenny Pitman14/1
1994MiinnehomaR. DunwoodyMartin Pipe16/1
1992Party PoliticsCarl LlewellynNick Gaselee14/1
1991SeagramNigel HawkeDavid Barons12/1
1990Mr FriskM. ArmytageKim Bailey16/1
1989Little PolveirJimmy FrostToby Balding28/1
1988Rhyme n ReasonBrendan PowellDavid Elsworth10/1
1987Maori VentureSteve KnightAndrew Turnell28/1
1986West TipR. DunwoodyMichael Oliver15/2
1985Last SuspectHywel DaviesTim Forster50/1
1984Hallo DandyNeale DoughtyGordon Richards13/1
1983CorbiereBen de HaanJenny Pitman13/1
1982GrittarDick SaundersFrank Gilman7/1 f
1981AldanitiBob ChampionJosh Gifford10/1
1980Ben NevisC.FenwickTim Forster40/1
1979RubsticMaurice BarnesJ. Leadbetter25/1
1978LuciusBob DaviesG.Richards14/1
1977Red RumTommy StackDonald McCain9/1
1976Rag TradeJohn BurkeFred Rimmell14/1
1975L’EscargotT. CarberryDan Moore13/2
1974Red RumBrian FletcherDonald McCain11/1
1973Red RumBrian FletcherDonald McCain9/1 f
1972Well To DoG. ThornerTim Forster14/1
1971SpecifyJohn CookJohn Sutcliffe28/1
1970Gay TripPat TaaffeFred Rimmell15/1
1969Highland WeddingEddie HartyToby Balding100/9
1968Red AlligatorBrian FletcherDenys Smith100/7
1967FoinavonJ. BuckinghamJohn Kempton100/1
1966AngloTim NormanFred Winter50/1
1965Jay TrumpTommy SmithFred Winter100/6
1964Team SpiritG. RobinsonFulke Walwyn18/1
1963AyalaPat BuckleyKeith Piggott66/1
1962KilmoreFred WinterRyan Price28/1
1961Nicolaus SilverBobby BeasleyFred Rimmel28/1
1960Merryman IIGerry ScottNeville Crump13/2

The public love affair for the Grand National is directly tied in to the nail-biting excitement of the race. Visually the spectacle is awe inspiring, as 40 horses charge up on the first fence the nervous anticipation of the crowd waiting to see if their horse makes it safely over is palpable even to those watching on TV. As the runners approach the fearsome Brecher’s Brook the excitement builds again. Twice around the course and the remaining horses are heading towards the ‘Elbow’ and the history books.

The Grand National has lots of famous winners in its history. Last years winner Auroras Encore (66/1) is clearly the example of how the race can still spring a surprise or two, although there have been bigger priced winners in recent years, like Mon Mome in 2009 the majority for winners come home at double digit odds. The reason why Mon Mome had odds of 100/1 was primarily due to him being a Frence bred horse. Throughout the entire history of the Grand National, there had only been three previous winners that were French. Remember you can read more about each Grand National winner by clicking on the horses name.

comments powered by Disqus